Excellent Start-up Award 2020

Strategic Partner: Cyberport



To recognise the outstanding achievements of the member associates of the Federation who have developed their start-up business through Hong Kong or with business links with Hong Kong.



6 cash awards ($5,000 each) and trophies, with 2 winners in each region (i.e. Asia & Australasia, Europe and Americas)

  • To be featured at Federation website
  • Sharing opportunity at HK Forum 2020 (subject to Awards Committee’s screening and Hong Kong Forum’s schedule)
  • A complimentary Startup Booth at HKTDC Fairs in 2021* (value up to USD833)

* HKTDC Entrepreneur Day, Electronic, ICT, Houseware, Gifts & Premium in 2021, if products/ services match the criteria for participation


Subject to admission/ application criteria, the Excellent Start-up Award winners could have the opportunity:

i) to be invited as a member of HK Startup Society (https://hkstartupsociety.hktdc.com/) (only for registered company in HK)


ii) to participate in Start-up Express (a start-up development programme) targeting start-ups with products or services suitable for mass consumer market, and with strong desire to enter worldwide markets (http://info.hktdc.com/startupexpress/tc/index.html)


iii) Potential collaborations with Cyberport

  • to submit application to Cyberport Incubation Programme (CIP) with a fast-track status which could enter final stage of screening --- Presentation Session.Successful start-ups joining CIP would have the chance to gain up to HK500,000 (only for registered digital tech company in HK, details at here)





  • The applicant must be a member associate of the Federation.
  • The applicant’s start-up must be less than 5 years of establishment.
  • The applicant must have a business connection with HK.
  • For applicants interested to join Cyberport Incubation Programme, T&Cs of their programme apply. Preferable sectors would be Smart Living (e-commerce, wearable, healthcare, edutech, proptech etc.) and FinTech (InsuTech, RegTech, Legal Tech etc.).




Deadline: 9 September 2020


Previous Winners

2019 Finalists